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Differences between FIDE’s Laws of Chess and USCF Rules 
USCF Website (http://main.uschess.org/content/view/11748/668/) 

With highlighting by Mike Hoffpauir, NTD, May 2013 
 

 FIDE Laws of Chess USCF Rules 

1. 
The arbiter can call fallen flags without a 
claim by the player or the opponent. 

Only the players may call a fallen flag. 

2. 

The arbiter will correct all observed rules 
violations (such as illegal moves and 
"touch move" violations) even if the 
opponent does not make a claim. 
(However, the opponent may make a claim 
if the arbiter does not observe the 
violation.) 

The director will correct illegal moves 
observed unless either player has less than 
five minutes remaining in the time control. (On 
the other hand, variation 11I1 is often used, 
although not typically announced. Under this 
variation, the director does not correct illegal 
moves unless a player makes a claim.) Other 
rule violations (such as "touch move") require 
the opponent to make a claim. 

3. 

The Laws of Chess require that a player 
whose cell phone rings shall lose the game 
on the first offense.  Players are forbidden 
to have cell phones that are not turned 
completely off without permission of the 
arbiter. 

USCF rule 20N provides for a time penalty the 
first time a player's cell phone rings. 

4. 

You must make your move on the board 
first and only then record the move unless 
you are claiming a draw by triple 
occurrence of position or by the 50 move 
rule (or sealing a move). 

USCF rule 15A requires the player to make 
the move first and only then record the move. 
However, a commonly used variation (often 
unannounced) allows a player using a paper 
scoresheet to write the move on the 
scoresheet before making the move on the 
board. 

5. 

The penalty for the first two illegal moves is 
to add two minutes to the opponent's time 
(whether or not the time control is a sudden 
death time control). A third illegal move 
results in loss of the game. 

A strict reading of rule 11 indicates that two 
minutes are added to the opponent's clock 
only for an illegal move in a sudden death 
time control.  However, a recent discussion in 
the rules committee has resulted in the 
determination that two minutes are added to 
the opponent's clock even in a non-sudden 
death time control as a result of applying the 
standard penalty of rule 1C2.  Also, there is 
no limit on the number of illegal moves a 
player may make in a game. 

6. 
There is no limit how far back in the game 
an illegal move may be corrected. 

If an illegal move is not corrected within ten 
moves (or within two moves in a sudden 
death time control in a time pressure situation, 
the illegal move stands. 
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7. 

If the time control has an increment of at 
least 30 seconds per move, both players 
are required to record moves at all times.  
If an increment of less than 30 seconds is 
used (or time delay), you must continue 
recording moves if you have at least five 
minutes on the clock, even if the opponent 
has less than five minutes remaining.   

A player may stop recording moves for the 
rest of the time control if the opponent has 
less than five minutes remaining.  If the time 
control has an increment of at least 30 
seconds per move, both players are required 
to record moves at all times. 

8. 

Unless specified otherwise, a player who is 
late at all for the start of the round forfeits 
(the "zero tolerance" rule).  The rules for a 
tournament may specify a different "default 
time."  In this case, if both players are late, 
all the elapsed time comes off White's 
clock 

The game is lost by a player who arrives at 
the chessboard more than one hour late. If 
both players are late, the elapsed time from 
the start of the round until the first player 
arrives is divided in half, and that time is 
subtracted from each player's clock. (So, for 
instance, if the first player is forty minutes 
late, twenty minutes should be subtracted 
from both sides of the clock.) 

9. 

It is not necessary to have a complete 
scoresheet to win on time in a non-sudden 
death time control.  Calling your own flag to 
prevent the opponent from filling in moves 
on an incomplete score sheet won't help. 

To claim a win on time in a non-sudden death 
time control, the opponent must have a 
reasonably complete scoresheet with no more 
than three missing or incorrect move pairs for 
the time control. A player may call his own 
flag as a means of preventing the opponent 
from filling in missing moves on the 
scoresheet. (Once the flag has been called, 
the opponent may not update the scoresheet.) 

10. 

When castling, the player must touch the 
king first (or the king and rook at the same 
time). If the player touches the rook first, 
castling with that rook is not allowed, and 
the touch move rule is applied to the rook. 

When castling, the player may touch either 
the king or the rook first. 

11. 

When promoting a pawn, the choice of 
promotion piece is final as soon as the 
piece touches the promotion square (even 
if the player has not yet released the 
promotion piece). 

Pawn promotion is complete only after the 
player releases the promotion piece on the 
square of promotion.  The promotion piece 
can be replaced with a different one as long 
as the player has not released it. 
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More Obscure differences 

 FIDE Laws of Chess USCF Rules 

Draws & Draw Situations 

1. 
The penalty for an incorrect draw claim is to 
add three minutes to the opponent's time. 

The penalty for an incorrect draw claim is to 
add two minutes to the opponent's time. 

2. 

If claiming a draw by triple occurrence of 
position or the 50 move rule, you must write 
your move on the score sheet without 
making the move on the board. If you make 
the move on the board, you are no longer 
considered to be "on the move" (even if your 
clock is still running), and a draw claim will 
be rejected. 

If claiming a draw by triple occurrence of 
position and the player's next move would 
cause the third occurrence, the correct 
procedure is to write the move on the 
scoresheet but not to execute the move on 
the board. However, under USCF rules, a 
player is considered to be "on the move" until 
the player presses the clock. So, if the player 
(incorrectly) makes the move on the board 
but does not press the clock, the player does 
not lose the right to claim the draw. Also, to 
claim a draw by the 50 move rule, the player 
should make the move on the board (if 
needed to reach the count of 50 moves by 
both sides) and must claim the draw before 
pressing the clock. 

3. 

A player with less than two minutes 
remaining on the clock may claim a draw 
under Article 10.2, even if there is a delay or 
increment. The player may claim a draw 
based on the opponent not making any 
attempt to win the game by normal means. 
The arbiter's ruling on such a claim is final 
and is not subject to appeal. 

USCF rule 14H (insufficient losing chances) 
does not apply if the game is played with a 
properly set delay or increment capable 
clock. 

4. 

 
 
It is possible to lose on time in situations that 
are a draw under USCF rules.  For instance, 
GM Nakamura lost on time with a king and 
rook vs. king and knight. Under the FIDE 
laws of chess, the game is drawn when one 
player runs out of time only if there is no 
legal sequence of moves by which the 
opponent could checkmate the player.  Since 
there is a helpmate that allows a king and 
one knight to checkmate a player with a king 
and rook, GM Nakamura lost. 
 
 
 
 

USCF rule 14E (insuffient material to win on 
time) specifies cases where the game is 
drawn even if one player runs out of time. 
One of the cases listed in rule 14E is the 
opponent having only a king and knight (and 
not having a forced win). 
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Pawn Promotion 

5. 

When promoting a pawn, the choice of 
promotion piece is final as soon as the piece 
touches the promotion square (even if the 
player has not yet released the promotion 
piece). 

When promoting a pawn, the choice of 
promotion piece is final when the player 
releases the promotion piece from his hand. 

6. 

It is illegal to use an inverted rook to mean 
"queen" when promoting a pawn. If a 
promotion piece is not readily available, the 
player must stop the clocks and ask the 
arbiter for assistance. (An arbiter would be 
within his rights to rule that the player had 
promoted to a rook.) 

The USCF rules explicitly state that, when 
promoting a pawn, an upside-down rook is to 
be considered to be a queen. 

7. 

It is an illegal move to leave a pawn on the 
last rank and then to press the clock without 
replacing the pawn with the intended 
promotion piece. The opponent will be 
awarded an additional two minutes in this 
case. 

It is incorrect, but not considered an illegal 
move, to leave a pawn on the last rank and 
then to press the clock without replacing the 
pawn with the intended promotion piece. In 
this case, the opponent may immediately 
press the clock to compel the player to 
replace the pawn with the promotion piece on 
his own time. 

Actual or Potential Illegal Move Situations 

8. 
When correcting illegal moves, the arbiter 
may use his best judgment to determine the 
time on each clock. 

In the case of an illegal move, there is no 
adjustment of the times shown on the clock. 

9. 

If the players start the game with the colors 
reversed, the game continues unless the 
arbiter rules otherwise. If the game started 
with the pieces incorrectly set up, the game 
is canceled and a new game played in its 
place. (It is incorrect to fix a reversed king 
and queen, the most common case of an 
incorrect initial position, by switching the king 
and queen to their correct squares.) 

Starting the game with the colors reversed is 
treated as an illegal move at the start of the 
game, as is starting the game with the pieces 
set up incorrectly.  In both cases, the mistake 
must be corrected within the first ten moves 
by both players, or the game will continue as 
is.  (While it is a common fix, it is incorrect to 
fix a reversed king and queen [the most 
common case of an incorrect initial position] 
by just swapping the king and queen back to 
their correct squares.) 

 

 


